Entomologists to Contact

Select a category:


Student Recruitment

Graduate Programs

Pesticide Applicator Certification

Pesticide Labels & Registrations

Youth/Science Outreach
Beekeeping

Bee Swarms

Insect & Spider Identification

Alfalfa

Corn

Dry Beans

Potatoes

Range and Pasture

Sorghum

Soybeans

Sugar Beets

Sunflowers

Wheat
Grasshoppers

 

Household & Structural

Livestock & Feedlots

 

Insects on Trees & Ornamentals
 


 

UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM

Insect Science Advising and Recruitment
Dr. Louise Lynch-O’Brien 402-327-1574 llynchobrien@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

GRADUATE PROGRAMS
Dr. Tom Weissling
Graduate Committee Chair
402-472-8680 tweissling2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Erin Bauer
Lecturer, Distance Education
402-472-9548 ebauer2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

BEEKEEPING / BEES & WASPS
Judy Wu-Smart 402-472-8696 jwu-smart@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

BEE SWARMS

Private citizens who may be willing to pick up a swarm:
Lincoln and Vicinity
Todd Fiala 402-560-4676 tf92300@windstream.net Lincoln, Raymond, Davy, Valparaiso, Malcolm
Dave Hamilton 402-421-2058   Lincoln, NE
Dustin Scholl 402-560-6640 dscholl3@unl.edu Lincoln, Seward areas
Buzz Vance 402-328-9709   Lincoln, NE
Mike Yearley 402-475-1609   Lincoln, NE
Warren Nelson 402-261-3407 wnelson193@neb.rr.com Lincoln, NE
Jim Sack 402-780-2144   Palmyra, NE
Hershel Stats 402-560-1031   Lincoln area
Charles Simonds 402-782-2349   Bennet, NE
Omaha and Vicinity
Phil Lee - Omaha Bee Club Bee Team 402-679-4195   Omaha, NE
Mike Levine 402-670-9900 mdl1356@gmail.com Omaha area
Columbus and Vicinity
Bern Kozisek 402-641-2222   Columbus area
Grand Island and Vicinity
Janet Alberts 402-854-2544   Grand Island area
Brian Nilson 402-617-2936   Grand Island area
Keith & Jeri Pobanz 308-384-1122   Grand Island area
Hastings and Vicinity
Ron Babcock 402-469-1910 ron@babcockfarms.com Hastings area
Norfolk and Vicinity
Mark & Ivy Folkers 402-586-2298   Norfolk area
South Sioux City and Vicinity
Mark Graf 308-962-4376 mgraf28@yahoo.com northeast corner of the state

FIELD CROPS: ALFALFA
Tom Hunt 402-584-3863 thunt2@unl.edu Haskell Agricultural Laboratory, Concord
Bob Wright 402-472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

FIELD CROPS: CORN
Bob Wright 402-472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Justin McMechan 402-624-8041 justin.mcmechan@unl.edu ARDC, Ithaca
Tom Hunt 402-584-3863 thunt2@unl.edu Haskell Agricultural Laboratory, Concord
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte
Ron Seymour 402-461-7209 rseymour1@UNL.EDU Adams County Extension, Hastings

FIELD CROPS: DRY BEANS
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte
Jeff Bradshaw 308-632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff

FIELD CROPS: POTATOES
Bob Wright 402-472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jeff Bradshaw 308-632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff

FIELD CROPS: RANGE AND PASTURE
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central R&E Center, North Platte

FIELD CROPS: SORGHUM
Bob Wright 402-472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central R&E Center, North Platte

FIELD CROPS: SOYBEANS
Tom Hunt 402-584-3863 thunt2@unl.edu Haskell Agricultural Laboratory, Concord
Justin McMechan 402-624-8041 justin.mcmechan@unl.edu ARDC, Ithaca
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte
Bob Wright 402-472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

FIELD CROPS: SUGAR BEETS
Jeff Bradshaw 308-632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff

FIELD CROPS: SUNFLOWERS
Jeff Bradshaw 308-632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff
Gary Brewer 402-472-8040 gbrewer2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

FIELD CROPS: WHEAT
Jeff Bradshaw 308-632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte

GRASSHOPPERS (Field Crops and Rangeland)
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central R&E Center, North Platte
Jeff Bradshaw 308-632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff
Ron Seymour 402-461-7209 rseymour1@unl.edu Adams County Extension, Hastings
Bob Wright 402-472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

HOUSEHOLD & STRUCTURAL

Ants, Bed bugs, Cockroaches, Termites, Etc.
Kaitlin Chapman 402-441-7180 kchapman13@unl.edu Metro District, Lincoln
Jody Green 402-444-7804 jgreen17@unl.edu Douglas-Sarpy County Extension, Omaha

INSECT & SPIDER IDENTIFICATION
Kyle Koch 402-472-8691 kyle.koch@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Kaitlin Chapman 402-441-7180 kchapman13@unl.edu Metro District, Lincoln
Jody Green 402-444-7804 jgreen17@unl.edu Douglas-Sarpy County Extension, Omaha
Wayne Ohnesorg 402-370-4040 wohnesorg2@unl.edu Northeast Extension District
Nicole Stoner 402-223-1384 nstoner2@unl.edu Southeast Extension District

LIVESTOCK & FEEDLOTS

Livestock
Dave Boxler 308-696-6721 dboxler1@unl.edu West Central R&E Center, North Platte

Feedlots
Dave Taylor 402-472-9651 dave.taylor@ars.usda.gov USDA-ARS Lincoln


PESTICIDE APPLICATOR CERTIFICATION
Clyde Ogg 402-472-1632 cogg1@unl.edu UNL Pesticide Education Office, Lincoln
Tim Creger 402-471-2351 or 877-800-4080 tim.creger@nebraska.gov Nebraska Dept. of Agriculture, Lincoln

PESTICIDE LABELS/REGISTRATIONS

also Worker Protection Standards, Pesticide Laws & Regulations,
Pesticide Education, Protective Clothing & Equipment
Clyde Ogg 402-472-1632 cogg1@unl.edu UNL Pesticide Education Office, Lincoln

INSECTS ON TREES & ORNAMENTALS
Nicole Stoner 402-223-1384 nstoner2@unl.edu Southeast Extension District

SCIENCE OUTREACH
K-12 Outreach Outreach Request Form entomologyliteracy@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

Breaking Entomological News...

  • Insect Science major Earl Agpawa (conducting undergraduate research with Joe Louis and Eileen Hebets) was named the 2020 winner of the ESA’s Plant-Insect Ecosystems Undergraduate Student Achievement Award.This is a national award that recognizes outstanding accomplishments in entomology by an undergraduate student working with insect-plant interactions. Congratulations, Earl!
  • PhD student Sajjan Grover (mentored by Joe Louis) was named the 2020 winner of the ESA’s Plant-Insect Ecosystems Kenneth and Barbara Starks Plant Resistance to Insects Graduate Student Award. This is a national award recognizing a graduate student for outstanding work in the area of host plant resistance. Congratulations, Sajjan!
  • Dr. Joe Louis receives a grant to study resistance in sorghum to fall armyworm
  • We are well-represented in ESA North Central Branch awards this year. Déia Montezano is the 2020 John Henry Comstock Outstanding PhD Student Award winner, Gary Brewer is the 2020 recipient of the Award of Merit, and Bob Wright is the 2020 recipient of the C.V. Riley Award. Congratulations, Déia, Gary, and Bob!
  • Congratulations to Dr. Troy Anderson on being elected Vice President Elect for the Physiology, Biochemistry, and Toxicology Section of the Entomological Society of America!
  • Dr. Kyle Koch named new insect diagnostician
  • Check out the Emerald Ash Borer Resource Center, and our Emerald Ash Borer Look-Alike Insects Sheet - Be Sure Before You Treat!