Entomologists to Contact

Select a category:



Undergraduate Program - Insect Science Advising and Recruitment
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Dr. Louise Lynch-O’Brien 402-327-1574 llynchobrien@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

Graduate Programs
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Dr. Tom Weissling
Graduate Committee Chair
402-937-1592 tweissling2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Erin Bauer
Lecturer, Distance Education
402-472-9548 ebauer2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

Beekeeping / Bees & Wasps
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Judy Wu-Smart 402-472-8696 jwu-smart@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

Bee Swarms

Private citizens who may be willing to pick up a swarm:

Lincoln and Vicinity
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Todd Fiala 402-560-4676 tf92300@windstream.net Lincoln, Raymond, Davy, Valparaiso, Malcolm
Dave Hamilton 402-421-2058 N/a Lincoln, NE
Kevin Monfelt 402-239-6690 N/a Lincoln, NE
Warren Nelson 402-261-3407 wnelson193@neb.rr.com Lincoln, NE
Luke Norris 402-910-4325 lnorris9@unl.edu Lincoln, NE
Mike Poole 402-202-3140 N/a
Jim Sack 402-780-2144 N/a Palmyra, NE
Dustin Scholl 402-560-6640 scholl.dustind@gmail.com Lincoln, Seward areas
Charles Simonds 402-782-2349 N/a Bennet, NE
Hershel Stats 402-560-1031 N/a Lincoln area
Buzz Vance 402-328-9709 N/a Lincoln area
Mike Yearley 402-475-1609 N/a Lincoln area
Omaha and Vicinity
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Phil Lee - Omaha Bee Club Bee Team 402-679-4195 N/a Omaha, NE
Mike Levine 402-670-9900 mdl1356@gmail.com Omaha area
Kevin Monfelt 402-239-6690 N/a Omaha area
Mike Poole 402-202-3140 N/a Omaha area
Columbus and Vicinity
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Bern Kozisek 402-641-2222 N/a Columbus area
Grand Island and Vicinity
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Janet Alberts 402-854-2544 N/a Grand Island area
Brian Nilson 402-617-2936 N/a Grand Island area
Keith & Jeri Pobanz 308-384-1122 N/a Grand Island area
Hastings and Vicinity
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Ron Babcock 402-469-1910 ron@babcockfarms.com Hastings area
Norfolk and Vicinity
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Mark & Ivy Folkers 402-586-2298 N/a Norfolk area
South Sioux City and Vicinity
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Mark Graf 308-962-4376 mgraf28@yahoo.com northeast corner of the state

Field Crops: Alfalfa
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Tom Hunt 402-584-3863 thunt2@unl.edu Haskell Agricultural Laboratory, Concord
Bob Wright 402-472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

Field Crops: Corn
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Bob Wright 402-472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Justin McMechan 402-624-8041 justin.mcmechan@unl.edu ARDC, Ithaca
Tom Hunt 402-584-3863 thunt2@unl.edu Haskell Agricultural Laboratory, Concord
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte
Ron Seymour 402-461-7209 rseymour1@UNL.EDU Adams County Extension, Hastings

Field Crops: Dry Beans
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte
Jeff Bradshaw 308-632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff

Field Crops: Potatoes
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Bob Wright 402-472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jeff Bradshaw 308-632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff

Field Crops: Range and Pasture
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte

Field Crops: Sorghum
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Bob Wright 402-472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte

Field Crops: Soybeans
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Tom Hunt 402-584-3863 thunt2@unl.edu Haskell Agricultural Laboratory, Concord
Justin McMechan 402-624-8041 justin.mcmechan@unl.edu ARDC, Ithaca
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte
Bob Wright 402-472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

Field Crops: Sugar Beets
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Jeff Bradshaw 308-632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff

Field Crops: Sunflowers
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Jeff Bradshaw 308-632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff
Gary Brewer 402-472-8040 gbrewer2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

Field Crops: Wheat
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Jeff Bradshaw 308-632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte

Grasshoppers (Field Crops and Rangeland)
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte
Jeff Bradshaw 308-632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff
Ron Seymour 402-461-7209 rseymour1@unl.edu Adams County Extension, Hastings
Bob Wright 402-472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

Household & Structural

Ants, Bed bugs, Cockroaches, Termites, Etc.
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Kaitlin Chapman 402-441-7180 kchapman13@unl.edu Metro District, Lincoln
Jody Green 402-444-7804 jgreen17@unl.edu Douglas-Sarpy County Extension, Omaha

Insect & Spider Identification
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Kyle Koch 402-472-8691 kyle.koch@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Kaitlin Chapman 402-441-7180 kchapman13@unl.edu Metro District, Lincoln
Jody Green 402-444-7804 jgreen17@unl.edu Douglas-Sarpy County Extension, Omaha
Wayne Ohnesorg 402-370-4040 wohnesorg2@unl.edu Northeast Extension District
Nicole Stoner 402-223-1384 nstoner2@unl.edu Southeast Extension District

Livestock & Feedlots

Livestock
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Dave Boxler 308-696-6721 dboxler1@unl.edu West Central R&E Center, North Platte
Feedlots
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Dave Taylor tdaylor1@unl.edu Lincoln

Pesticide Applicator Certification
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Jen Weisbrod 402-472-1632 pested@unl.edu or jweisbrod2@unl.edu UNL Pesticide Safety Education Program, Lincoln
Tim Creger 402-471-2351 or 877-800-4080 tim.creger@nebraska.gov Nebraska Dept. of Agriculture, Lincoln

Pesticide Labels/Registrations
also Worker Protection Standards, Pesticide Laws & Regulations, Pesticide Education, Protective Clothing & Equipment
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Jen Weisbrod 402-472-1632 pested@unl.edu UNL Pesticide Safety Education Program, Lincoln

Insects on Trees & Ornamentals
NamePhone NumberEmailLocation
Nicole Stoner 402-223-1384 nstoner2@unl.edu Southeast Extension District

Science Outreach
NameContact formEmailLocation
K-12 Outreach Outreach Request Form entomology@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln