Specialists to Contact

Select a category:


Student Recruitment

Graduate Programs

Pesticide Applicator Certification

Pesticide Labels & Registrations

Youth/Science Outreach
Beekeeping

Bee Swarms

Insect & Spider Identification

Nematodes

Wildlife & Vertebrates
Alfalfa

Corn

Dry Beans

Potatoes

Range and Pasture

Sorghum

Soybeans

Sugar Beets

Sunflowers

Wheat
Grasshoppers

Greenhouses

Household & Structural

Livestock, Feedlots, & Pets

Medical & Public Health

Stored Food and Grain

Trees & Ornamentals

Turfgrass & Lawn

Vegetables (Commercial)

Vegetables & Fruit

UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM

Insect Science Advising and Recruitment
Lisa Silberman 402-472-3416 lsilberman1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

GRADUATE PROGRAMS
Dr. Joe Louis
Graduate Committee Chair
402-472-8098 joelouis@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Tom Weissling
Distance Education Coordinator
402-472-8680 tweissling2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Erin Bauer
Lecturer, Distance Education
402-472-9548 ebauer2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

BEEKEEPING / BEES & WASPS
Judy Wu-Smart (402) 472-8696 jwu-smart@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Marion Ellis   mellis3@unl.edu UNL Entomology (retired), Lincoln

BEE SWARMS

Private citizens who may be willing to pick up a swarm:
Lincoln and Vicinity
Todd Fiala 402-560-4676 tf92300@windstream.net Lincoln, Raymond, Davy, Valparaiso, Malcolm
Dave Hamilton 402-421-2058   Lincoln, NE
Dustin Scholl 402-560-6640 dscholl3@unl.edu Lincoln, Seward areas
Buzz Vance 402-328-9709   Lincoln, NE
Mike Yearley 402-475-1609   Lincoln, NE
Warren Nelson 402-261-3407 wnelson193@neb.rr.com Lincoln, NE
Jim Sack 402-780-2144   Palmyra, NE
Hershel Stats 402-560-1031   Lincoln area
Marion Ellis 402-505-9712   Lincoln and Omaha
Charles Simonds 402-782-2349   Bennet, NE
Omaha and Vicinity
Phil Lee - Omaha Bee Club Bee Team 402-679-4195   Omaha, NE
Marion Ellis 402-505-9712   Lincoln and Omaha
Columbus and Vicinity
Bern Kozisek 402-641-2222   Columbus area
Grand Island and Vicinity
Jason Rosenkranz (402)764-2673 jason.rosenkranz@behlenmfg.com Stromsburg
Janet Alberts 402-854-2544   Grand Island area
Brian Nilson 402-617-2936   Grand Island area
Keith & Jeri Pobanz 308-384-1122   Grand Island area
Hastings and Vicinity
Ron Babcock 402-469-1910 ron@babcockfarms.com Hastings area
Norfolk and Vicinity
Mark & Ivy Folkers 402-586-2298   Norfolk area
South Sioux City and Vicinity
Duane Bajema 402-441-0784   South Sioux City area

FIELD CROPS: ALFALFA
Tom Hunt (402) 584-3863 thunt2@unl.edu Haskell Agricultural Laboratory, Concord
Keith Jarvi (402) 584-3819 kjarvi1@unl.edu Dixon County Extension, Concord
Jim Kalisch 402-472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

FIELD CROPS: CORN
Bob Wright (402) 472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Tom Hunt (402) 584-3863 thunt2@unl.edu Haskell Agricultural Laboratory, Concord
Keith Jarvi (402) 584-3819 kjarvi1@unl.edu Dixon County Extension, Concord
Jim Kalisch 402-472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte
Ron Seymour (402) 461-7209 rseymour1@UNL.EDU Adams County Extension, Hastings

FIELD CROPS: DRY BEANS
Ron Seymour (402) 461-7209 rseymour1@unl.edu Adams County Extension, Hastings
Jeff Bradshaw (308) 632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff

FIELD CROPS: POTATOES
Bob Wright (402) 472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jeff Bradshaw (308) 632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff

FIELD CROPS: RANGE AND PASTURE
Fred Baxendale (402) 472-8699 fbaxendale1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jim Kalisch 402-472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Julie Peterson (308) 696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central R&E Center, North Platte

FIELD CROPS: SORGHUM
Bob Wright (402) 472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jim Kalisch 402-472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Julie Peterson (308) 696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central R&E Center, North Platte

FIELD CROPS: SOYBEANS
Tom Hunt (402) 584-3863 thunt2@unl.edu Haskell Agricultural Laboratory, Concord
Keith Jarvi (402) 584-3819 kjarvi1@unl.edu Dixon County Extension, Concord
Jim Kalisch 402-472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte
Bob Wright (402) 472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

FIELD CROPS: SUGAR BEETS
Jeff Bradshaw (308) 632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff

FIELD CROPS: SUNFLOWERS
Gary Brewer (402) 472-8040 gbrewer2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jeff Bradshaw (308) 632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff
Jim Kalisch 402-472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

FIELD CROPS: WHEAT
Jim Kalisch 402-472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Julie Peterson 308-696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central Research and Extension Center, North Platte
Jeff Bradshaw (308) 632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff

GRASSHOPPERS (Field Crops and Rangeland)
Julie Peterson (308) 696-6704 julie.peterson@unl.edu West Central R&E Center, North Platte
Jeff Bradshaw (308) 632-1369 jbradshaw2@unl.edu Panhandle R&E Center, Scottsbluff
Ron Seymour (402) 461-7209 rseymour1@unl.edu Adams County Extension, Hastings
Bob Wright (402) 472-2128 rwright2@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

GREENHOUSES
Fred Baxendale (402) 472-8699 fbaxendale1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jim Kalisch (402) 472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

HOUSEHOLD & STRUCTURAL

Ants, Bedbugs, Cockroaches, Fleas, Termites, Etc.
Jody Green 402-441-7180 jgreen17@unl.edu Lancaster County Extension, Lincoln
Jonathan Larson (402) 444-7804 jonathan.larson@unl.edu Douglas Sarpy Extension, Omaha

INSECT & SPIDER IDENTIFICATION
Jim Kalisch 402-472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jody Green 402-441-7180 jgreen17@unl.edu Lancaster County Extension, Lincoln

LIVESTOCK / FEEDLOTS / PETS

Livestock
Dave Boxler (308) 696-6721 dboxler1@unl.edu West Central R&E Center, North Platte

Feedlots
Dave Taylor (402) 472-9651 dave.taylor@ars.usda.gov USDA-ARS Lincoln

Pets
Fred Baxendale (402) 472-8699 fbaxendale1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jim Kalisch 402-472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

MEDICAL & PUBLIC HEALTH

Lice, Mosquitoes, Ticks, Itch Mites
Jim Kalisch (402) 472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Fred Baxendale (402) 472-8699 fbaxendale1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jody Green 402-441-7180 jgreen17@unl.edu Lancaster County Extension, Lincoln

NEMATODES
Tom Powers (402) 472-5726 tpowers1@unl.edu UNL Plant Pathology, Lincoln

PESTICIDE APPLICATOR CERTIFICATION
Clyde Ogg (402) 472-1632 cogg1@unl.edu UNL Pesticide Education Office, Lincoln
Tim Creger 402-471-2351 or 877-800-4080 tim.creger@nebraska.gov Nebraska Dept. of Agriculture, Lincoln

PESTICIDE LABELS/REGISTRATIONS

also Worker Protection Standards, Pesticide Laws & Regulations,
Pesticide Education, Protective Clothing & Equipment
Clyde Ogg (402) 472-1632 cogg1@unl.edu UNL Pesticide Education Office, Lincoln

STORED FOOD & GRAIN
Jim Kalisch 402-472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

TREES & ORNAMENTALS
Fred Baxendale (402) 472-8699 fbaxendale1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jim Kalisch (402) 472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jonathan Larson (402) 444-7804 jonathan.larson@unl.edu Douglas Sarpy Extension, Omaha

TURFGRASS & LAWN
Fred Baxendale (402) 472-8699 fbaxendale1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jim Kalisch (402) 472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jonathan Larson (402) 444-7804 jonathan.larson@unl.edu Douglas Sarpy Extension, Omaha
Roch Gaussoin (402) 472-8619 rgaussoin1@unl.edu UNL Agronomy & Horticulture, Lincoln

VEGETABLES (COMMERCIAL ONLY)
Fred Baxendale (402) 472-8699 fbaxendale1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

VEGETABLES & FRUIT
Fred Baxendale (402) 472-8699 fbaxendale1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jim Kalisch (402) 472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Paul Read (Grapes) (402) 472-5136 pread1@unl.edu UNL Agronomy & Horticulture, Lincoln

WILDLIFE & VERTEBRATES
Dennis Ferraro (402) 472-8248 dferraro1@unl.edu UNL School of Natural Resources, Lincoln

YOUTH/SCIENCE OUTREACH
K-12 Outreach Outreach Request Form entomologyliteracy@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Jim Kalisch (4-H) 402-472-8691 jkalisch1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln
Fred Baxendale (4-H) 402-472-8699 fbaxendale1@unl.edu UNL Entomology, Lincoln

Breaking Entomological News...